<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" version="2.0"><channel><title><![CDATA[Stupid question on deleting old snapshots.]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">So, originally I was running XO on my cluster, and I ran into some problems after a power failure, and as part of the solution I spun up a newer version of XO.</p>
<p dir="auto">As part of that I've got lots of snapshots tied to an old (and overly complicated) backup job that I'm not using any more.  As I'm trying to simplify the backup routine (with the old XO not running, because why run two?) I'm getting errors that some VMs have too many snapshots.  I'm looking at one VM with 22 snapshots stored.</p>
<p dir="auto">Now, what I <em>want</em> to do is simply go to the VM listing in XO, move to the snapshots tab, and delete everything other than the last few that are the most recent.  Then create my new backup job.</p>
<p dir="auto">For some reason I'm not feeling very confident, though.  Is there any reason not to do this?</p>
]]></description><link>https://xcp-ng.org/forum/topic/8205/stupid-question-on-deleting-old-snapshots</link><generator>RSS for Node</generator><lastBuildDate>Thu, 13 Aug 2026 12:51:30 GMT</lastBuildDate><atom:link href="https://xcp-ng.org/forum/topic/8205.rss" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml"/><pubDate>Fri, 12 Jan 2024 23:27:08 GMT</pubDate><ttl>60</ttl><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Stupid question on deleting old snapshots. on Sat, 13 Jan 2024 02:00:52 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">You should be able to delete the snapshots without causing any harm. A couple of things to keep in mind --</p>
<ul>
<li>
<p dir="auto">If the snapshot is associated with an existing backup job, then the next run of that job will result in a full backup instead of a delta</p>
</li>
<li>
<p dir="auto">It may take some time for the snapshots to coalesce following deletion, so this could still affect your backups until they are completely removed</p>
</li>
<li>
<p dir="auto">If you want to delete the backups associated with the old job, then you can from the <code>Backup &gt; Health</code> tab in XO</p>
</li>
</ul>
]]></description><link>https://xcp-ng.org/forum/post/69550</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://xcp-ng.org/forum/post/69550</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[Danp]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 13 Jan 2024 02:00:52 GMT</pubDate></item></channel></rss>